This is the best that Oliver Jeffers has written so far. His illustrations are always fantastic, undoubtedly. All four-year olds love the book and the artworks.

Thankfully, in this sort children have asked me only one logical question that they usually ask while reading Jeffers’ books. The question was this: ‘How could the penguin use the oar when it did not have hands?’

At last, I explained them what I should have done long back: Stories have many things that we don’t see in life. For example talking animals, demons and little boys throwing a house/fire engine around. Just enjoy the story. Such things don’t happen in life.

Lost and Found is about the friendship between a boy and a little, lonely penguin. The penguin accidentally walks in the boy’s house and then they embark on a long journey. The boy thinks that the penguin is lost, but after separating from the penguin he realises that it is lonely, not lost. The boy learns what is loneliness after separating from
the penguin.

417oKCOPG1L

Dear Mr. Jeffers, you have made me and children happy. Among all your books that I have, Lost and Found is children’s favourite everywhere.

I was thrilled when, during the first reading of the book,  one child saw the vague, shadowy figure on the page and told me that the distant image was that of the penguin! In the story this happnes when the boy is trying to see the penguin again. It was something that I had not thought. The child could guess that the penguin was on the way to meet the boy. Thrilled by the little child’s response, I immediately took her for an ice cream.

