I am a great admirer of all Pilot writing instruments. I keep buying these pens repeatedly, as if the new one is going to give me hitherto unknown pleasure. Pilot maintains strict quality control, the result of this can be experienced in their pens that rarely, if ever, fail. (My only disappointment is with Pilot Parallel Calligraphy pens. Although the pens have good nibs, these pens have a pathetic body material, giving them a cheap look.)

Review of Pilot 78G with a stub/italic nib
Pilot 78G with Bold/Broad italic nib

This piece is about Pilot 78G with a B nib, one of the best writing instrument I have in my collection. Since I don’t want to declare it to be the best, I would say that 78G belongs to my all time favourite list. I love the 78G with a B nib because the italic cut is narrower than 1.1mm usually available with the stub nibs of the other brands. I read on the net somewhere that Pilot B nib is approximately 0.85mm, perfect for routine writing. Besides, the italic cut gives those wonderfully thin lines, which the stub, because of its curvy edges, fails to give. My daily handwriting looks beautiful, taking people’s breath away.

In India, this pen is not easily available. I bought two of them from someone who had an old unsold stock. Indian writers easily fall for those Watermans and Lamys, but few know the value of Japanese quality control and perfection. Those who deal in ‘imported pens’ don’t bother to keep the Japanese pens. When I go to them, they try to sell famous expensive brands to me. Funny. When I appreciate Pilot, they say that India does not have a market for Pilot and Sailor. Those who love pens because they produce brilliant lines value these machines.

Natalie Goldbert compares writing with the act of lovemaking, “Writing resembles sex. To enjoy both, you have to keep moving, abandon yourself to the act, and stop thinking.”

Goldberg says that a sincere act of writing requires faith in one’s talent to continue writing (keep moving your hands, on a computer or a paper), full engagement without distractions (abandon yourself to the act, ideally with no gadget closely that is connected to internet) and freedom from self-doubts (stop thinking). The last bit about thinking is indeed significant: if we think too much about the fate or quality of our writing, we hesitate, we become cynical and quit the project altogether. The comparison with the act of love is apt, because that is one process where we passionately do all the three things mentioned by Goldberg to achieve the big O.

The ink in both the pens is Waterman, Serenity Blue and Harmonious Green. The notebook is Doodle diary.

Review of Pilot 78G
Pilot 78G, B nib makes your everyday writing look great.
